Walkerton Heritage Museum

At the Walkerton Heritage Museum, you will find exhibits, photographs, memorabilia from local businesses, and many other interesting artifacts. Our collection of photographs shows local businesses, farming, schools, area township schools, sports teams, town and school bands, street scenes, railroads, grain elevators, churches, and other images from the past. You may read or listen to oral histories telling about life in the Walkerton area in earlier times. Some memories are written on paper, others are on audio tape.

We have a Microfilm Reader/Printer and microfilm of Walkerton (1886-1996) newspapers and North Liberty (1912-1962) newspapers. Admission to the museum is free, but donations are always accepted. For more information email us at WAHS@walkerton.org or call 574-586-3868.

In 1997, the Heritage Room Museum was opened at the Walkerton Library. The house at 413 Michigan St. was donated by Dr. and Mrs. Elliott Frash to be used as a museum by the Walkerton Area Historical Society. The house was built in 1885 and was used by Dr. Frash in his profession for 38 years. The Heritage House was the museum’s home until August of 2022. We are now located at 302 Roosevelt Road in Walkerton in the old BMV, donated by Larry and Janet Hiler.


Now hiring

The Walkerton Heritage Museum is hiring for a one-year contract position (PT:$16/hr) in the role of Museum Specialist, with an anticipated start date of March 4. The newly opened Walkerton Heritage Museum stewards the important history of the Walkerton Area through exhibits, programs, and meetings with researchers. Our archives hold stories from a unique area of the state, where 4 counties and two time zones converge in one small, but important, town and towns surrounding it. The Museum Specialist will report to the Board of the Walkerton Area Historical Society (WAHS) and should be able to attend WAHS meetings on the first Monday of the month at 7 pm.

General responsibilities of this position will be:

  • Assisting with the writing and arrangement of the quarterly newsletter, including doing historical research for stories or trivia
  • Managing content creation, marketing, and patron communication on the museum’s Facebook
  • Assist with inventory of archival collections and possible digitization of inventory into a collection management software
  • Assist in the research, design, and installation of exhibits
  • Performs a variety of administrative support duties such as answering the telephone, opening and sorting the mail, and maintaining records
  • Performs other duties as assigned

Required qualifications:

  • Knowledge of modern office policies and procedures
  • A positive attitude and willingness to learn
  • Proven interest in regional or local history
  • Experience with social media and Microsoft Office Suite: Word and Excel
  • Strong organization and writing skills
  • Ability to use a computer, microfilm reader, and scanner, along with relevant software applications

Preferred qualifications (not required):

  • College coursework in history, museum studies, or related field OR experience in museums, archives, or libraries.

Please send your resume and cover letter to history@walkerton.org if interested.



 Items on-sale at the Museum | WHS Membership Form | Historical Society Dues

Comments are closed.